Skip to Main Content

Hale Alakaʻi is temporarily closed for electrical repairs. Read more for relocations and details.

Nominations are currently closed

Board of Regents Excellence in Teaching Award

The Board of Regents has provided for one Excellence in Teaching Award for a faculty member at each of the University of Hawai‘i Community Colleges. The award is made to a faculty member in recognition of outstanding merit as a teacher, counselor, or librarian.  This award consists of a cash award, an engraved Board of Regents medal, and is presented at the Commencement Ceremony to the teacher, counselor, or librarian selected. Lecturers, faculty who have previously received the award, and APT employees are not eligible.  The names of nominees and those who nominated individuals will be held in confidence.  Only the name of the campus selectee will be made public.

Meritorious Lecturer Award

The Windward Community College Chancellor has provided for one Meritorious Lecturer Award for instructors who have taught in the current academic year or the previous summer and who are not eligible for the Board of Regents award.


YearExcellence in Teaching AwardMeritorious Lecturer Award
2024Jenny Kelly: Animal Science
2023Kamuela Kimokeo: MusicBeau Shishido: Hawaiian Studies
2022Kevin Takayama: MathematicsTaurie Kinoshita: Theater
2021Paul Briggs: EconomicsIan Masterson: CCE
2020Teena Michael: Botany and MicrobiologyAlex Durrant: Dance, Theater
2019Audrey Mendoza: SpeechMarvin Kessler: Astronomy
2018Hongwei Li: MicrobiologyJordan Souza: Hawaiian Studies
2017Nicolas Logue: TheatreVanessa Cole: Information and Computer Science
2016Lance Uyeda: Language ArtsKathleen Baxter: Veterinary Technology
2015Charles Whitten: CounselorEvaline Tuti Sanborn: Hawaiian Language
2014Jody-Lynn Storm: MathematicsBryce Myers: Art
2013Kalani Meinecke: Hawaiian Language
2012Floyd McCoy: Geology and Oceanography
2011Nancy Heu: Library
2010Ben Moffat: Drama
2009Ross Langston: Biological Sciences
2008Malia Lau Kong: History
2007Kathleen French: Sociology
2006Brian Richardson: Library
2005Toni Martin: Art
2004Dave Krupp: Biology and Oceanography
2003Letty Colmenares: Chemistry
2002Inge White: Botany and Microbiology
2001Wei-ling Landers: Mathematics
2000Robert de Loach: Sociology and Anthropology
1999Paul Nash: Ceramics
1998Jean Shibuya: English
1997Frank Mattos: English
1996Ellen Ishida-Babineau: English
1995Paul Field: History
1994Alan Ragains: Speech and Communications
1993Clayton Akatsuka: Mathematics
1992Mark Hamasaki: Art
1991David Ringuette: Agriculture
1990Libby Young: English and Journalism
1989Norma Higa: Economics
1988Joe Ciotti: Physics, Astronomy, and Mathematics
1987Snowden Hodges: Art
1986Lillian Cunningham: English
1985Emi Troeger: Business Technology
1984Phil Hagstrom: History
1983Helen McArdle: Health, Physical Education and Recreation
1982Al Woods: Finance
1981Jean (Yoshida) Okumura: Mathematics
1980Pearl Takeuchi: Chemistry
1979Ron Loo: Philosophy and Music
1978Gary Stice: Geoscience and Oceanography
1977Aileen Tsuji Yim: Reading and Learning Skills
1976David Furuto: Mathematics
1975Janice Nuckols: History
1974Otome Myers: Psychology
1973Carl Takamura: Political Science