skip to main content

Wo Learning Champions


The Wo Learning Champions initiative focuses on professional development for faculty and staff in Hawai‘i’s two-year institutions. With a focus on learning and an eye on leadership development, the Wo Learning Champions program invests in junior members of the academic community, renews its senior faculty, and promotes the enrichment of all at the State’s community colleges.

Visit the main Wo Learning Champions homepage (login with your UH GMail account)

View a list of Windward CC winners of Wo Awards


Professional Development grant applications are available now for WCC staff, lecturers, or faculty. We encourage you to submit your application for the WO innovation and WO Community Building Awards. The dates for 2010 have not been announced yet. You may be eligible to receive up to $500 for professional development if, in the past 5 years, you have undertaken an innovative task in operations, instruction or delivery of a service. A second $500 award will be granted in recognition of a successful community building activity.

Community Building Award:
Innovation Award:

10th Generation, 2014 to 2015

  • Kacie Nishioka
  • Nicolas Logue


9th Generation, 2012 to 2013

  • Kathleen Zane
  • Jo Ann Takamiyashiro

8th Generation, 2011 to 2012

  • Jamie Boyd
  • Janine Oshiro

7th Generation, 2009 to 2010

  • Heather Aihara
  • Paul Briggs
  • April Sandobal
  • Tara Severns

6th Generation, 2008 to 2009

  • Michael Moser
  • Loretta Monroy
  • Malia Lau Kong
  • Ingelia White

5th Generation, 2007 to 2008

  • Leslie Opulauoho
  • Jane Uyetake
  • Heipua Kaopua
  • Sarah Hadmack

4th Generation, 2005 to 2006

  • Elizabeth Ratliff
  • Erin Loo

3rd Generation, 2004 to 2005

  • Letty Colmenares
  • Jo Ellen Cerny

2nd Generation, 2002 to 2003

  • Sarah Hodell
  • Robert Bachini

1st Generation, 2001 to 2002

  • Ellen Ishida-Babineau
  • Sharon Fowler

Picture of the WCC Wo Learning Champions

Wo Champions at WCC, Spring, 2008

left to right: back row: Sarah Hodell, Elizabeth Ratliff, Letty Colmenares,
Ellen Ishida-Babineau; front row: Jane Uyetake, Sarah Hadmack,
Heipua Kaopua, Leslie Opulauoho

Related Links